Skip to content

No doubt about the good sense of Woody Allen.

October 5, 2010

No doubt about the good sense of Woody Allen.

In an interview from the Arts section of The New York Times (September 15) which made me laugh out loud, the 74 year-old prolific filmmaker spoke about people who believe in the supernatural – this, in the context of his latest movie You Will Meet a Tall Dark Stranger.

The film deals with a wife who seeks comfort in the supernatural and the effect of this on her family.

Woody said:

To me, there’s no real difference between a fortune teller or a fortune cookie and any of the organised religions. They’re all equally valid or invalid, really. And equally helpful.

I like that very much. The interview went on:

Q. What seems more plausible to you, that we’ve existed in past lives, or that there is a God?

A. Neither seems plausible to me. I have a grim, scientific assessment of it. I just feel, what you see is what you get.     

And here’s another quote that I enjoyed:

Q. I half expected to see you at that 12-hour performance of Dostoyevsky’s “Demons” that Lincoln Center Festival produced over the summer.

A. No, no, I’m a low-brow. I read that material, more out of obligation than enjoyment. For enjoyment, for me, it’s a beer and the football game.

That’s where we part, pal. I’m a card carrying intellectual snob. Give me Fyodor over football anyday.

Comments are closed.

