Skip to content

Republican Talks to This Blog (Exclusive)

December 30, 2010

A well-connected US Republican cautions me about my assumption that Sarah Palin will be sucked into the race for the presidential nomination. He says that between her book, speaking fees and Fox contract she’s pulling in $18 million. Moreover she’s just signed another two year contract. Like Mike Huckabee she is keen to keep her profile up because it means more paying engagements but, my source says, both know the minute they step onto the field as candidates they are damaged goods. ( He concedes this could change when she sees her name figure flatteringly in Iowa polls and candidates’ disease sets in ).

Gingrich could galvanize the same base but carries baggage. That leaves Mitt Romney, so flawed he couldn’t win against Obama. Behind him is a crop of the next generation but people like Barbour, Rubio and Daniels haven’t had the time to load up with money.

Says my source : “The system’s so front-loaded these days they’ve got to have the money at the very start.” That means off and running now at least in fund-raising.

My source believes the Republicans will be cautious in Congress, not wishing to repeat the errors of 1993. But the party is acting more and more on the assumption that Obama is in a strong position to be re-elected and they are short of a viable candidate to field against him.

3 Comments
  1. December 31, 2010 4:57 am

    I hope they are not running scared! There is just too much to lose!

  2. December 31, 2010 9:48 am

    I am an Aussie/Kiwi hybrid, living, writing and blogging in NYC. Big fan. My piece about the Republican field in Business Spectator traverses similar ground — http://bit.ly/fvvMtQ

    After some thought, I decided against including Christie, but I now wonder whether he is the candidate Dems ought to be most wary of. What do you think?

    • December 31, 2010 12:57 pm

      I would love to see Christie run, I would vote for him in a minute. But I take him at his word, he says that it’s a no go. Herman Cain is starting to get a lot of attention and is well known among conservatives, but I don’t think he is as well known among most Republicans. Marco Rubio would be really good VP material, or Presidental in maybe 2016, but not now, he also says he is not interested, but personally, I think if VP was offered, he would seriously consider it. I personally would hesitate on voting for Romney, don’t like Huckabee(he was my gov.), Newt is good but a little to professorial, Daniels is too boring, anyone else for me besides Sarah Palin, is just not worth the time. I have been hearing a lot of how Sarah is falling in the polls, but I think a lot of that is just wishful thinking on some of the other side, and some of her competitors. She is one smart women, and doesn’t follow the rules on how you are supposed to do things. She sees problems the way a lot of us outside Washington see them and just steps in and tries to solve them in the way she sees best. Her perspective is not skewed to follow a predictable pattern, and that may make her much more of a interesting person and much more of a challenge. I hope she runs!! I will do my best to help her if she decides that is what she wants. If she doesn’t, then watch where she puts her money and time. She is conservative all the way.

Comments are closed.

