Skip to content

Shooting Away: Bob Katter’s Mistake

October 27, 2011

Like Kevin Rudd, I have some sneaking admiration for Bob Katter, less for his protectionist policies. Yet I think he’s making a big mistake in linking his new political party with gun happy idiots. The photos in The Australian’s front page exclusive yesterday ought to persuade him to cut all links with these bullet-infatuated simpleheads.

One photo shows two of these characters posing with the body of a scimitar-horned oryx. They show an ally, the owner of the Queensland Gun Exchange, in Zimbabwe, posing on a slaughtered giraffe. What inhabits the mind of someone who would gain fulfilment from killing a giraffe?

And – be honest – whose side are you on? The gun-happy idiot’s or the animal’s?

It reminds me of the movie Winged Flight which recorded breathtaking bird migrations. The climactic moment in the documentary occurred when one graceful waterfowl was shot out of the formation by an unseen hunter. Faced with a choice between the hunter and the beautiful migratory bird I knew whose existence I valued most.

I was in a Collins St coffee shop early one morning, dispatching an espresso. A guy at the bar said to me, “You stopped me shooting ducks.” I was reminded that I did precisely that, banning duck hunting in my first term.

“Sorry,” I said, “I’m on the side of the ducks.”

When I saw Winged Flight I was proud to be.

5 Comments
  1. scott permalink
    October 29, 2011 3:07 am

    I’m on the side of the ducks too. Good work.

  2. TerjeP permalink
    November 2, 2011 9:34 pm

    One photo shows two of these characters posing with the body of a scimitar-horned oryx.

    I believe that the character in question is married to Bob Katters daughter and she appears in the photo (not that I have seen the picture myself). The Oryx was breed in a game park.

    I think banning hunting is rather daft and prejudiced. It’s one thing to love ducks but quite another to impose that view on others via legislation.

    I believe Kevin Rudd belonged to a gun club for a time but I don’t know if he was a hunter. For what it is worth I don’t agree with Katters protectionist impulses.

    • November 16, 2011 2:58 pm

      Well mate, I fail to understand what value hunting adds to our society? What is gained from shooting a giraffe? What do you prove by using a high-powered gun to shoot an animal dead? It is certainly not a skill and calling it a sport is laughable. To me hunters are pathetic people who seem to need to find a way to prove themselves through blood. I fail to understand what kind of depraved mind finds enjoyment in killing things. Killing purely for food is one thing, but when you are doing it as a source of enjoyment then there is something wrong with you.

      We cause such havoc to our environment, we have pushed so many animals to extinction or to the brink of extinction. I believe that we should be making attempts wherever possible to lessen the impact we make and shooting animals for sport/entertainment is one area that is screaming for a swift bullet to the head.

      Oh, and in point of fact the Oryx is a highly endangered animal and the one mentioned above was bred at enormous cost in an effort to save the species. The reserve that bred it went broke and sold the Oryx and other animals to another zoo. That zoo couldn’t get everything in order so sold them onto a game park where this particular Oryx was then shot. The original owner is horrified.

  3. TerjeP permalink
    November 2, 2011 9:46 pm

    Faced with a choice between the hunter and the beautiful migratory bird I knew whose existence I valued most.

    This is a rather extremist position if literally true. To put the life of a duck above the life of a human.

  4. Dennis Bidlake permalink
    November 14, 2011 2:14 pm

    The waterfowl migration routes in North America were kept open and preserved by duck hunters at a time, when no one else gave a rat’s arse.
    Most national parks in the United States were declared by a bullet obsessed simpleton called Teddy Roosevelt. In his retiremjent he helped create and maintain the great national parks of Africa.
    Another bullet obsessed simpleton and artist called Peter Scott was instrumental in preserving waterfowl migration destinations in the U.K. at a time, when few others were interested.
    One of the co-founders of W.W.F was a bullet obsessed simpleton.
    If you had any respect for individuals and did not believe in stereotyping and vilifying people, you would never talk like this.

Comments are closed.

