Skip to content

John Tingle’s 80th Birthday

November 3, 2011
John Tingle, Bob Carr, Carl Scully and John’s daughter Laura Tingle

John Tingle was between 1995 and 2006 a Shooters Party member of the Legislative Council. Surprisingly, I found him to be a cooperative and thoroughly pleasant parliamentary colleague who put the interest of the state first in considering the government’s reform program.

A few of us gathered last night at Parliament House for his 80th birthday. Tributes were paid to John’s qualities. He made reference to a career in radio that began in 1949.

I don’t frequent the state parliament but this was an entirely happy occasion.

Incidentally, the two representatives of the Shooters and Fishers Party in the Legislative Council are in a position to block the O’Farrell government’s electricity privatisation were they to vote with the Labor opposition and the Green Party. Together that would make 21 votes against the 20 votes of the coalition and the Christian Democrats with the President Don Harwin only able to vote to break a tie. Legislation facilitating electricity privatisation would be defeated therefore 21 to 20, providing Tingle’s old party were to line up against it.

My views on electricity privatisation are well known and represent a minority view in the state ALP.

4 Comments
  1. Brian Stitt permalink
    November 3, 2011 8:06 pm

    Good to read something positive from within the world of politics about someone who the writer was previously opposed

  2. November 4, 2011 3:14 am

    Ah, he’s Laura Tingle’s dad. I’ve always thought that she was one of the better political journalists around. I especially liked her demolition of the Coalition’s policy on asylum seekers. I just wish most of her work wasn’t hidden behind the AFR paywall.

    I’m not from NSW so I don’t know much about the Shooters Party. I had, however, heard that their member in the Legislative Council (Mr TIngle) did not fit the stereotype (probably an unjustified stereotype anyway). I wonder what the current representatives will be like.

  3. November 4, 2011 3:16 am

    It’s a shame I can’t go back and edit my previous comment to remove the grammatical errors!

    • November 4, 2011 8:08 pm

      yes indeed every post I do when typing quickly on my laptop has errors!! The Laura reference is interesting, I wondered what she was doing in the picture thern Duh!!! maybe that explains why dad was more reasonable than many of us thought possible, I wish they would come and shoot the deer in the Illawarra they are a damne nuisance and need some kind of control.

Comments are closed.

