Skip to content

Country NSW: Libraries and History

February 20, 2012

With Mayor Mathew Dickerson (right) and Councillors

In Dubbo I launched 2012 National Year of Reading at the Dubbo branch library with Mayor Councillor Mathew Dickerson and former Independent State Member Dawn Fardell.

I spoke on familiar themes about reading enabling one to live other lives, to stretch one’s consciousness. I referred to some of the books that have lived in my imagination, some for decades.

Naturally, it was great to spend some time with people who love reading.

John Bayliss, Macquarie Regional Library Director, took me to the Museum and Art Gallery. I saw with Museum Director Andrew Glassop an exhibition called Space Invaders, which began with the National Gallery of Australia, of street art.

A big contrast with the paintings of the Venetian Renaissance. I liked the art. It’s part of the art of our times.

In the adjacent local museum, I was captured by photos of Dubbo’s streets in the early years of the last century, by the Federation Era bullock-drawn wool-cart and by a red coat that may have been worn by Australian volunteers in the Sudan War.

Looking at the record of recent exhibitions. I’m sorry I missed one called On the Sly which took three women with criminal stories related to Dubbo; and an exhibition about Bathurst migrant camp 1948 – 1952 called A Place for Everyone – once again I was reminded of how tough and crude and hard life had been for many in early post-war Australia.

3 Comments
  1. February 20, 2012 6:15 pm

    Thank you for another insight into what’s out there in the wide world. This look into Dubbo is enough to make me want to ride up there and take a look for myself. Edward James

  2. John permalink
    February 21, 2012 11:55 am

    Yes, i recenly had a good look through the dubbo Museum , i also found it very intersting.

  3. Rik Wallin permalink
    February 21, 2012 6:32 pm

    Our regional art galleries are great to visit. I’ve always enjoyed my “local” – Hazlehurst, but recently visited the Orange Regional Art Gallery. I’d missed the Archibald Exhibition in Sydney last year, but it’s recently been in Orange on its touring schedule.
    I arrived about lunchtime on a Friday to find that I had the whole 41 portraits to myself for the first half of my viewing and during my hour there, there were no more than another half dozen people in the gallery.
    Even though I expect to get to the NSWAG for the Archibald this year, I’ll be organizing another (hopefully) private showing in another regional art gallery later in the year.
    By the way, I had “dropped in” at Orange on the way to Canberra for the Renaissance exhibition at the NGA. I enjoyed that as well, but I think it was outweighed by the comfort of the previous day’s time at the ORAG.

Comments are closed.

